Knit & Crochet Blog Week: An Inspirational Pattern.

Blog about a pattern or project which you aspire to. Whether it happens to be because the skills needed are ones which you have not yet acquired, or just because it seems like a huge undertaking of time and dedication, most people feel they still have something to aspire to in their craft. If you don’t feel like you have any left of the mountain of learning yet to climb, say so!

Sylvi, by Mari Muinonen.

I aspire to knit the Sylvi.

I said so last year, and Corey sneakily called Briggs and Little Atlantic to inquire about their wool, but he wasn’t sure how many skeins I needed or what colour, so I ordered it and he paid for it as a birthday present.

Since then, I’ve knit one cuff and maybe five rows of the left panel. It’s slow-going. The main reason for this is that I am a very small, short person, and I’m afraid the Sylvi is going to go down to my ankles. I’m also afraid that even the extra small will be too huge for me. I was planning to make the XS with 6.00mm needles, but I’m now thinking about going down a needle size. I just haven’t put the effort into making all the calculations yet though, because the last thing I want is to spend so much time on something only to have it turn out too large. I’m nervous.

I plan to figure it out this summer.

While the Sylvi is the main pattern that I aspire to knit, there are a few more on my radar.

Maire Riding Jacket, by Margaret Mills.

The Maire Riding Jacket. While this does not seem like a particularly difficult knit, it does look like a lot of knitting. After looking at the prices on Caledon Hills Worsted Wool, it looks pretty affordable (although that’s in US dollars, not including shipping).

I really like how this jacket is fitted, and the vertical cable lines just seem to flow perfectly. The cables are very simple but still add a nice touch.

This is probably a jacket that I would wear open in the front most of the time. Unless the size is perfect to my form with some give, I’d be afraid of stretching the wool at the points where the front is fastened together.

Pas de Valse, by Marnie MacLean.

The Pas de Valse by Marnie MacLean. Again, the skills used to make this pattern may not be particularly difficult, but it’s fine yarn and there is a lot of knitting involved.

I’m attracted to the number of ways this garment can be worn, and this would be a big knit for me, in the sense that I’d wear it all the time and I want it to be of good quality. I would love to use some Sweet Georgia Yarns wool for this, but the amount needed would push this sweater close to the $200 price range. A bit too steep for my current budget.

However, I just think this is an incredibly versatile knit. If I had the money, I would have no problem spending that amount to make this, especially if it’s something that will last me several years. As shown in the image, you can belt it, leave it open, or pin it. It would look great over a skirt, dress, or pants.

I also aspire to design my own garment one day.

One response to “Knit & Crochet Blog Week: An Inspirational Pattern.

  1. Good luck with resizing Sylvi! I really like the riding jacket as well.

Leave a Reply

