Knit & Crochet Blog Week: One Great Knitter.

Write about a knitter whose work (whether because of project choice, photography, styling, scale of projects, stash, etc.) you enjoy. If they have an enjoyable blog, you might find it a good opportunity to send a smile their way.

While I don’t really admire one great knitter, there are a few out there whose styles and blogs I admire. In no particular order:

Ysolda Teague – Ysolda Teague’s designs are popular among knitters. I have made two of them, the Ishbel shawl and Rose Red hat. Her clothing designs have a vintage or nostalgic feel to them, and I would love to knit the Damson shawlette soon. As well, her blog is always full of fun photos and an appreciation for all things crafty.

Kate Davies – I first came across needled when I found the Owls sweater on Ravelry. It is such a simple sweater, and it is perhaps my favourite sweater that I’ve made. It’s so warm and comfortable; I could easily toss it on for a hike in the woods. I really enjoy reading Kate’s blog for the variety of topics, especially when she posts photographs of her hikes around her home in Scotland. Whenever I read her hiking posts, I want to go for long walks. Her recent posts about her stroke and overcoming physical challenges are very inspirational.

SweetGeorgia Yarns – The colours of SweetGeorgia Yarns are absolutely stunning. They’re so bright and vibrant. There are so many great colourists out there in the world of dyeing, but I’ve always been most drawn to Felicia’s colourways. As the website says, they are passionate, relentless, and unapologetic. Her blog showcases these colours with some great photography, and her studio on Main Street in Vancouver is bright little fibre arts haven. I’ve subscribed to her fibre club twice now, and will certainly continue in the future. (Speaking of which, I should post a photo soon of the latest fibre installment. So many greens!) If I hadn’t moved away from Vancouver last summer, I would have signed up for her spinning class in the fall.

And while I don’t know too much about Norah Gaughan, I think she’s an incredible designer. While some of her patterns don’t speak to me, she is so prolific that I think there must be something for everyone in her collections. She is an artist with a biology degree, and this shows through clearly in her book, Knitting Nature. Here is an interview Norah Gaughan about the creation of that book.

2 responses to “Knit & Crochet Blog Week: One Great Knitter.

  1. Hello Gem!

    I like the new look of your blog 🙂 I also like reading what you write about, it makes me feel like we’re not so far apart. I checked out Kate Davies’ blog – thanks for linking to this! It’s really interesting and she’s so inspiring. I also like that she writes about places I know about.

    Keep the ideas and such coming please, I find you very inspiring too 🙂

Leave a Reply

