Knit & Crochet Blog Week: Revisit a Past FO.

[FO = Finished Object]

Bring the fortune and life of a past finished project up to the present. Document the current state and use of an object you have knitted or crocheted, whether it is the hat your sister wears to school almost every day, or a pair of socks you wore until they were full of holes.

Garter Yoke Cardi.

The Garter Yoke Cardigan is the FO that I wear most often. In winter, I wore it practically every day to school. It’s very comfortable, it goes with my jeans (which I also wore every day in the winter), and it’s light but warm. The body and sleeves are in Cascade wool, while the yoke and sleeve cuffs are Noro Silk Garden.

At the time I began making this, most of the knitters on Ravelry who had knit this sweater used the same colours for the yoke and the body. Very few had used Noro for the yoke, but I knew I wanted to do the same. Since then, several people have used Noro for the yoke, and they are all beautiful. I think using Noro works incredibly well for this sweater, because for me, too much Noro is overwhelming with all the stripes and colours, but too little Noro is kind of pointless if it doesn’t show off those colourways. The Noro yoke is the perfect compromise.

I also get several compliments while wearing this sweater. Once, while sitting at the pub, I felt a tap on my shoulder and woman who was clearly rushing out asked me if I had made it. I said yes, and she said she and her friends were just admiring it from afar, and then she gave me a big thumbs up as she went through the door.

I could see myself knitting another one of these, once this one starts wearing out.

Leave a Reply

