Coasters.

Even though my class schedule is not very busy this semester, I still feel like I have a lot of work to do, which means that my knitting gets pushed to the side. (The addition of World of Warcraft to my life has nothing to do with knitting going on the backburner… or does it?)

I actually did start working on the Sylvi a few weeks ago, and managed to knit up nearly one front piece. More worries about sizing have prevented me from continuing though. I think it’ll be a tight fit, but with blocking should fit comfortably. Fingers crossed.

Aside from that, I have been knitting coasters. Yes, coasters. I don’t really knit items for “in-the-home.” Actually, if I can’t wear it, I generally don’t knit it. Some exceptions apply, but I mostly enjoy knitting garments for myself. That said, I haven’t been able to concentrate much on anything except these:

Mitred squares.

Mitred squares. Aren’t they beautiful? I’ve been using the leftover Noro Kureyon from the Feather and Fan shawl for Corey’s grandmother, and the colour is working very well even for these small squares. I cast on 50 stitches, and threw in some purl rows so that the ridges are further apart and you can see the colour nicely.

Now I have visions of making blankets out of mitred squares in Noro Kureyon, but I’ll only have six squares before my yarn runs out. Coasters it is.

2 responses to “Coasters.

  1. Cute squares. and thanks for the suggestions. I saw the picture of your shawl, and it’s lovely. Good to know there’s enough yarn for multiple things. I probably will buy another skein to finish my socks.

  2. Woaaaah woah woahhhhhh. You’re in the World now?? OMG. We must discuss.

Leave a Reply

