Self-Imposed Yarn Diet.

Today I was at the London (Ontario) Food Festival, eating some Thai food and Jamaican beef patties, when I got a call from Corey. I volunteered to bring him some food, so we sat on a bench near his workplace while he ate. This bench happened to be about 6 metres from the front door of a higher-end yarn shop, which had two signs in their windows: “50% OFF EVERYTHING” and “Closing Sale!”

Yarn goodies.

I raced home, wrote down some patterns I had queued on Ravelry and the type of yarn I wanted for them, and drove back to the shop.

I paid for the yarn with weak knees, and drove home in a trance. I missed putting on my turn signal three times. I never forget to put on my signal. I signal when I’m driving out of our apartment parking lot in the middle of the night when there is no moving car in sight. When I got home, I had to have a short sit-down with my yarn and calm myself.

After some thought, I came to the conclusion that I will go on a longer yarn diet. I just finished a 2.5 month yarn diet, during which I bought two skeins yarn to make gifts. But it’s time for desperate measures. I am inspired by this blogger’s post about her own yarn diet.

This Yarn Diet ends on June 26 next year, or once I use up 90% of my stash. I have enough yarn for four sweaters and some small projects, plus I need to finish my Sylvi.

There will be exceptions! Souvenir yarns from special places that I visit or yarn purchased to make gifts for others are generally okay, in (low) moderation. I also have several skeins that won’t work well unless I pair them with other yarns (currently not in my stash), but I will evaluate each situation accordingly and do my best to make do with what I have.

Now that that’s over with, onto today’s loot!


Noro Kureyon.

1 skein of Noro Kureyon
Project: Socks, inspired by these socks in progress. This blog belongs to a fellow librarian from my program, so when I saw those socks in person, I knew I was going to be making socks out of Noro Kureyon sooner or later.


Noro Silk Garden.

4 skeins of Noro Silk Garden
Project: The ever popular Noro Striped Scarf, which became even more popular after Jared Flood blogged about it.


Rowan Felted Tweed.

7 skeins of Rowan Felted Tweed
Project: Rowan is expensive, and the good stuff is never on sale! These will become a Manu, designed by Kate Davies of needled.


And finally,

Koigu.

9 skeins of Koigu Premium Merino.
Project: The Pas de Valse by Marnie MacLean. I hope beyond hope that I calculated the yardage correctly. I’m thrilled about getting Koigu on sale for this pattern! I stood there for several minutes picking a colour, and decided to go with a soft pink that resembles the original. I like the idea that it will be a flowy, feminine cardigan.


Add all that up, and you get this:

Happy Gem.

6 responses to “Self-Imposed Yarn Diet.

  1. Beautiful acquisitions! Good luck with all those projects. Does this mean Needles and Pins is closing?

  2. ::drooling:: I’m especially jealous of the Rowan Felted Tweed – I’ve been wanting to try that stuff for years!

    Glad to have you on the wagon with me – hopefully having someone else will make the whole diet thing easier!

  3. Pingback: Friday Favorites – 7/2/10 « KateOhKatie blogs

  4. Pingback: Twist Collective: Fall 2010 « La Petite Chouette

  5. Pingback: Rings and WIP. « La Petite Chouette

Leave a Reply

