Knitting for Charity.

I discovered last week that one of my colleagues founded the Ottawa chapter of a charity organization. They create baskets filled with household and personal items for women who are beginning new lives after leaving abusive homes.

One store contributed several balls of yarn as a donation, but the organizers weren’t sure if it was a good idea to distribute the yarn since it’s not a guarantee that these women will know how to knit, or if they’ll even have proper supplies to do so.

That’s where I come in! My colleague asked me if I would be willing to use the yarn to knit scarves for the women, and I am happy to do so. I’ve been wanting to use my knitting skills for good (as I often tend to knit items only for myself).

All of balls of yarn are singles. There are only about four or five different kinds of yarn in the bag, but all the colourways are different from ball to ball. I’ll have to get creative. I think I’ll try to stretch each ball of yarn for one scarf (or two to one, for the particularly small ones). I ended up buying two giant balls of yarn from Michaels, one black and one cream, so I will be using them to buff out the scarves.

This will keep me busy all winter!

2 responses to “Knitting for Charity.

  1. Just read about it. I am happy you accepted the challenge and doing a good cause. I’m pretty sure you will turn those yarns into beautiful scarves or even a toque!

  2. So, how’s it going? Also, I want to see more updates on here. Plus, you are pretty.

Leave a Reply

