Beeswax.

When I was in Vancouver last month, I admired my friend’s beeswax candle. It was a thick cylinder with a honeycomb print on the outside, and there were large bees sitting on the candle. I went to a farmers’ market a few weekends ago and bought a candle for myself, though shaped a bit differently:

It’s funny how your tastes change as you grow older. You know, when you’re a kid, it’s all about displaying your toys and stuff animals, then figurines, but as you grow older you begin to place value in items that reflect your lifestyle too. This beeswax candle, from a local farmers’ market, sits beside my Nancy Pearl Librarian action figure.

I’ve been knitting a lot lately, mostly getting my Pas de Valse cardigan done. After the Manu and the Pas de Valse, I think I will focus my energy next on a sweater like Vivian by Ysolda Teague – anything that is made out of somewhat bulky yarn! Both the Manu and the Pas de False are long sweaters knit out of light fingering weight yarn, and it’s agony at times going back and forth in stockinette stitch. I need to see some faster progess and variety with pattern on my next project.

I also have the Sylvi to work on, but I’ve reached a point in the instructions where I actually have to use my brain to do some math so I’ve put it on hold, because math is difficult.

Leave a Reply

