Love for Mushroom & Herb Quinoa.

This cookbook has been highlighted at Chapters for a couple months now, and I finally managed to get it from the local public library. I would have bought my own copy, but I’m trying not to buy cookbooks without trying them out first.

Corey hates mushrooms, but I love them, so I thought I would make mushroom & herb quinoa since he was going to be out of the house this evening. He ended up staying at home because his game got rained out, but I made the quinoa anyway and it was so incredibly flavourful. I’m used to light tasting quinoa salads with tomato, zucchini, etc. This was like down home, earthy, comfort quinoa. I am definitely making it again.

The freshly grated parmigiano was perfect. Who knew parmigiano goes with quinoa? I normally substitute cilantro for parsley, but the parsley in this recipe was a great addition. All of the flavours mixed really well: the vegetable stock, butter, garlic, mushrooms, parsley, and parmigiano. I will definitely try a few more recipes from this cookbook.

2 responses to “Love for Mushroom & Herb Quinoa.

  1. Mmmmh… I love quinoa. Want another (not as wholesome) treat? Try making quinoa with pesto & coconut milk. I don’t remember the complete recipe, just that it was good. C’est tres magnifique!

  2. I really love quinoa too! I just made quinoa chilli this week. I’ve been tempted to buy this book. I’ve seen it on the best seller list for awhile now…

Leave a Reply

