WIP: Cruiser & Honey Cowl

I’m still not finished my Cruiser mitts, but they are on their way to becoming real mitts. Apologies for the poorly-lit photography.

Knitting thumbs is pretty important for winter mitts, you know.

I was browsing through some cowl patterns last night, admiring the Honey Cowl and pondering which yarn I could use for that from my stash. It hit me: last year I received a gorgeous skein of pink/brown/white wool that had been part of SweetGeorgia Yarns‘ fibre club. I had it stashed for over a year because I couldn’t figure out the right pattern to show off the colours without looking too busy and overwhelming because the colourways are quite short.

I love those colours. Although I don’t believe in gender specific colours, I have to confess I love pink. I don’t love it because it’s a girly colour; I just think the hue of a dark pink is beautiful. It’s not a colour you often see in nature except in flora or certain vegetables. A vivid dark pink makes me very happy. Paired with the greyish browns and balanced by the white in this skein, I’m looking forward to seeing how the finished project turns out.

Find more WIPs today on Tami’s Amis.

7 responses to “WIP: Cruiser & Honey Cowl

  1. Everything looks great! The pink, brown and white yarn is gorgeous!

  2. I can see the mitten coming out in them! Maybe for FO Friday! 😉

  3. What a good idea for short colorways! And the mitts look really cozy.

  4. I know what you mean about pink – it definitely has to be the right *kind* of pink, and balanced with the brown and white, it looks lovely in your picture. Should make you a fabulous cowl 🙂

  5. That pink/brown/white yarn is scrumptious!!! That’s one of my all-time favorite color combos. I’m a girly-girl, though, and have always been very fond of pink. :p
    I’d love to get my hands on a skein like that! I’m sure you’re enjoying knitting with it. 🙂

  6. I love pink too, but hate the “girly” connotations associated with the colors. That skein is so pretty. I can’t wait to see how the project turns out.

  7. I am so jealous of that yarn ! It is beautiful; and the greeny one wasn’t bad either 🙂

Leave a Reply

